2016/17 BDCA: Eaton qualify for the grand final

James Hillery blasted 127 for Eaton in their dominant win against Colts on Saturday. Photo: Ash Pearce.

James Hillery blasted 127 for Eaton in their dominant win against Colts on Saturday. Photo: Ash Pearce.

Marist have kept their 2016/17 Bunbury and Districts Cricket Association season alive with a gutsy elimination final win over Hay Park on Saturday. 

The Redbacks got the better of an encounter between the two sides the weekend before and Marist were keen to prove themselves. 

Winning the toss and electing to bat, Marist posted 7/236 from their 50 overs. 

Opener Corey Fitt (25), Tyler McGladdery (33), Lee Sorfleet (61), Chris Laker (39), Brayden Clarke (30) and Matt Anderson (21 not out) all helped Marist post the handy total.  

Chris Waddingham was the best of the bowlers for Hay Park, snaring 4/36 from 10 overs. 

Redbacks captain Jono Whitney did what he could to keep his side in the hunt during the chase, blasting 91 from 122 balls with 10 boundaries and two sixes. 

It’s a shame the rest of his side couldn’t hang around at the crease a bit longer. 

Ryan Leybourne (22) and Waddingham (24) made starts but the rest of the batsmen folded cheaply to have Hay Park all out for 180. 

Alan Utterson took three wickets for Marist while Anderson and Laker took two each to eliminate Hay Park from the final’s race. 

Eaton won their way straight into this season’s grand final on Saturday with a big win over Colts. 

Winning the toss and electing to bat, Eaton posted 5/245 on the back of James Hillery’s best knock of the year. 

For the second week in a row, Hillery reached triple figures with 127 not out from 134 balls including 11 boundaries and five sixes. 

Matthew Davies (19), Don Seaman (17), Matt Foreman (18) and Liam O’Mara (28) also chimed in with runs. 

Jake Boyle and Connor Ipsen both took two wickets for Colts. 

After the break, Colts run chase started well with openers James Anderson (14) and Jayden Goodwin (38) making starts. 

Murray Goodwin (18), Cruize Ciallella (10) and Kyle Davis (40) also added runs but the tail fell quickly to leave Colts all out 180. Clint Hewson was the pick of Eaton’s bowlers, taking 4/53.

Colts will now host Marist this Saturday with the winner to meet Eaton in the grand final. 

In the B-grade competition, Collie are straight into the grand final after they beat Colts by 108 runs. 

Batting first, Collie posted 6/243 with Seth White (63) and Greg Tomasini (58 not out) top scoring. 

In reply, Colts were dismissed for 135 with Steven Ireland taking 5/42 – his best figures for the season.

Colts will have one more chance to make the B-grade final when they face Leschenault on Saturday. The Green Caps dismissed Capel for just 83 last weekend. Rob Marshall took 3/2 in four overs. 

In reply, Leschenault reached the target six wickets down with Daniel Standen (23) top scoring. 

Marist beat a previously-undefeated Burekup to qualify for the C-grade grand final. Batting first Marist made 4/217 with Riley Miguel finishing 78 not out. 

Burekup just fell short of the target, dismissed for 199 with opener Gerard Robertson posting 60. 

Burekup will have a chance to redeem themselves against Dardanup who defeated Colts on Saturday.

Dardanup posted 9/204 and sent Colts packing for 171 with  James Morris taking 4/40.