SWFL name 2017 Landmark league squad | photos

The South West Football League has named an initial squad of 70 players in contention to join the 2017 Landmark Country Football Championship side. 

The South West has a great record in recent years’ at the carnival with a run of five straight championships ended in 2016 with a grand final loss to Peel Football League

Since then a number of the Peel players who dished out the pain to the South West, including Joel Houghton and Brendon Jones, have joined SWFL sides and will now look to return the favour for their new league. 

Round one of the competition will see the South West face Peel at Rushton Park on June 17 before the remainder of the carnival is played in Perth between July 7 and 9. 

The initial squad of 70 players includes 11 from collie and 10 each from Eaton and South Bunbury. 

The squad will be trimmed down to the team of 27 before the first game. 


Augusta Margaret River

Ben Gerrans, Mitch Gerrans, Mitch Lynn, James Price


Matthew Martin, Kyle Bassett, Kane Bumann, Blair Della Franca, Aiden Clarke, Harry Creasey, Brad Blake, Travis Justins, Asten Preedy


Jackson Arbon, Aiden Fraser, Dylan Patterson, Matt Welburn, Chris Puff, Bailey Sanford

Carey Park

Ben Golowyn, Jamahl Mullholland, Jake Thurston, Chris McMillan, Jayden Wilson

Collie Eagles

Travis Cleggett, Michael Florio, Jayce Fontana, Matt Michael, Perry Francis, Joel Houghton, Corey Griggs, Paul Rinder, Kyle Shanahan, Jebb Swallow, Teke Vernon


Shane Cristaldi, Jayden D’Vauz, Jacob Green, Kieran Hug, Sam Lowrie, Sean Lynch

Eaton Boomers

Will Oelsnik, Jace Cormack, Josh Battaglia, Michael Battaglia, Kieran Butcher, Chris Atthowe, Nick Martin, Blake Piggott, Michael Russell, Jay Walton

Harvey Brunswick Leschenault

Kristin Thornton, James Hawksley, Dylan Heasman, Jack Quinn, Tyson Wood

Harvey Bulls

Brett Lofthouse, Brendon Jones, Darren Rumble, Dean Miller

South Bunbury

Damon Bull, Mason Hislop, Matt Giacci, Brynn Francis, Jaxon Bell, Jon Meadmore, Brady London, Leigh Kohlmann, Kyle Hams, Michael Thompson