Peel Cavaliers announce team for Landmark title defence

The Peel Football and Netball League has named the side that will attempt to defend its 2016 Landmark Country Football Championships title.

The squad of 30 will take on the South West Football League in a rematch of last year’s grand final this Saturday, with head coach Clayton Falkingham looking forward to seeing how his side stacks up.

“I’m pretty happy with the squad we’ve gone with,” he said.

“We’ve changed a lot from last year but we still have plenty of guys that can make a big difference.”

From last year’s championship side, just seven players will line up for the Cavaliers this weekend.

South Mandurah’s Andrew Haydon and Keegan Power headline what looms as a strong midfield, while Baldivis’ Kyle Westwood will look to give Peel the edge in the ruck.

Fellow Falcons Brad Holmes and John Bennell, along with Waroona’s Steve Cameron, should provide good firepower up forward for the Cavaliers.

Kieran May (Pinjarra), Courtney Lakay (Waroona) and Michael Beeton (Halls Head) have also been in good form for their local clubs this year and could provide a spark.

Falkingham said the side had opted for speed in the midfield above tall timber to match it with the South West.

“We know they’re a really good side but we think going with a bit more run and carry should give us an edge at the contests,” he said.

“It’s an important game and it sets up whichever side wins it for the rest of the carnival, so it should be a good spectacle.”

The game against the South West will bounce down at 4pm at Bendigo Bank Stadium this Saturday.

It will be preceded by a colts clash and a historic women’s game between the two leagues.

Peel Cavaliers 2017 Landmark squad

  • Michael Beeton (Halls Head)
  • Luke Quartermaine (Mandurah)
  • Cameron Gavin (Halls Head)
  • Tom Wood (South Mandurah)
  • Keegan Power (South Mandurah)
  • Mitchell Green (Pinjarra)
  • Matthew Buxton (Centrals)
  • Alex Connor (Mandurah)
  • Courtney Lakay (Waroona)
  • Jeffery Carter (Pinjarra)
  • Emmanuel Collard (Baldivis)
  • Ben Wright (Waroona)
  • Andrew Haydon (South Mandurah)
  • Jake Lally (Halls Head)
  • Brett Pickett (Mandurah)
  • John Bennell (South Mandurah)
  • Ryan Mulgrave (Mandurah)
  • Toby Gianatti (Centrals)
  • Brendan Tingey (Baldivis)
  • Tyson Phillips (Halls Head)
  • Braddon Kazakoff (Pinjarra)
  • Clay Smith (Waroona)
  • Kieran May (Pinjarra)
  • Stuart Puls (Mandurah)
  • Kyle Westwood (Baldivis)
  • Bradley Holmes (South Mandurah)
  • Steven Cameron (Waroona)
  • Kyle Hinchcliffe (Baldivis)
  • Aaron Bowers (Baldivis)
  • Daniel Griffin (Baldivis)
This story Peel Cavaliers announce team for Landmark title defence first appeared on Mandurah Mail.