Football fans name their 2017 Footy HQ-WA All-SWFL team

During the South West Football League finals series, the team from Footy HQ – WA asked local fans to vote for their 2017 All-SWFL team. 

With more than 6,000 votes received, it’s time to reveal the final side. 

HBL’s Jonathon Fenwick was the most popular defender with 181 votes, narrowly ahead of Harvey’s Logan Egerton Green and Eaton captain Will Oelsnik. 

HBL’s Ryan McKinlay, Bunbury’s Kane Bumann and South Bunbury’s Mason Hislop were also chosen as defenders.

A solid year from Carey Park’s Jayden Wilson won him the prime ruckman spot with Donnybrook’s Brendan Page voted in as the reserve ruckman. 

Harvey Bulls speedster Jacob Pickett was a popular choice for the forward line alongside Bunbury’s Brett Peake and Carey Park’s Eli Hill. The league’s leading goal kicker Joel Houghton from Collie was also selected alongside HBL pair Dylan Heasman and Kristin Thornton.  

Across the middle of the field, Bunbury’s Patrick Farrant led the way in the voting, closely followed by his teammate Aidan Clarke, who won the Pike Medal as best-on-ground in the 2017 league grand final. 

They were joined at the top of the poll by Busselton’s Ben Daniels, Eaton’s Jace Cormack and South Bunbury’s Matt Giacci. 

The extended bench for the fan-selected side included HBL’s Luke Slater, Eaton’s Chris Atthowe, Bunbury’s Kyle Bassett and Matt Martin, Donnybrook’s Shane Cristaldi and South Bunbury’s Leigh Kohlmann. 

For more, check out Footy HQ – WA on Facebook