Bunbury claims 58 to 48 victory over Carey Park, goes through to grand final

Bunbury battled courageously on the court to earn a place in this year's South West Netball Football League grand final. 

Claiming a convincing win in Round 19, the Bulldogs overtook Carey Park to finish the regular season on-top of the ladder. 

After losing to Harvey-Brunswick-Leschenault in the final round, and losing out on the minor premiership in the process, Carey Park had its sights set on victory in Sunday’s semi-final. 

Carey Park started promisingly against the Bulldogs, before Bunbury Goal Shooter Cass Shine and Goal Attack Cassady Anderson pulled their side back into the contest.

Ahead by one at quarter time, the Bulldogs continued their run and moved out to a 29 to 25 half-time lead.

Carey Park persisted in the third and sat five goals behind Bunbury at the final change. 

The Bulldogs responded with a 16 to 12 final term and went on to win 58 to 48.

The Panthers will face Busselton in this Sunday’s preliminary final, after the Magpies sent Harvey-Brunswick-Leschenault packing.

Busselton dominated from the outset and gained a 15 to 6 lead at quarter time. 

The Magpies maintained a wide margin in the second and third terms, putting pressure HBL at every turn.

The Lions were no match for Busselton in the fourth, as the Magpies ran out to a 45 to 33 win.

The Souwest Jets’ 18s and Under squad bowed out of this year’s West Australian Netball League competition after losing 53 to 30 to Perth Lions in their preliminary final. 

Perth raced out to a six goal lead by quarter time. 

The Jets won the second term with a 91 per cent hit rate on goal, but Perth was still able to claim a 22 to 16 half-time lead. 

Perth extended its margin to 16 by three-quarter time, before shooting 15 in the final term. 

The Jets commiserated as Perth booked itself a place in the grand final. 

The Jets’ side sat fourth at the end of the regular season with eight wins, five losses, and one draw. 

The Southwest Jets was recently announced as one of seven clubs to gain West Australian Netball League licences for 2019-2021.

All seven clubs will enter teams into next year’s League and Under 20 divisions.

Read more: