Krikke Motorsport, driver Kerry Madsen pleased with 2019/2020 campaign

On the track: Driver Kerry Madsen and Bunbury's Krikke Motorsport picked up 15 podium finishes during the 2019/2020 season. Photo: Corey Gibson Photography.
On the track: Driver Kerry Madsen and Bunbury's Krikke Motorsport picked up 15 podium finishes during the 2019/2020 season. Photo: Corey Gibson Photography.

To say that the Krikke Motorsport team and driver Kerry Madsen had a consistent 2019/2020 season campaign would be quite the understatement.

In what was the second season together for the duo, they managed to impressively finish 15 of the 19 feature races on the podium with three of them being wins.

The team started their campaign in December last year, with an emphatic victory in the Western Australian 410 Sprintcar Title at the Perth Motorplex.

Krikke was also the only team to record back-to-back World Series Sprintcar round wins.

Over the Christmas-New Year period, the team's WSS Championship began with the hectic Speedweek Series.

After claiming a string of podium finishes, Madsen sat second in the overall point standings behind James McFadden.

The team's lowest finish came at the Hi-Tec Oils Speedway round, where he was running in podium spot until a flat tyre in the closing laps spoiled his chances and he finished in 10th.

Throughout the WSS Championship's Sunshine Swing in Queensland, Madsen continued the team's consistent run of form.

In the lead up to the Grand Annual Classic weekend, the Ultimate Speedway Nationals at Valvoline Raceway, the President's Cup at Avalon Raceway, and the King's Challenge at Borderline Speedway were all rained out.

This season's Grand Annual Classic, held at Warrnambool's Premier Speedway, was a solid one for Madsen and the team.

After finishing second in the preliminary feature race on his qualifying night, Madsen went on to finish the feature race in third.

The team ventured over to Tasmania to contest the Australian Championship at Latrobe Speedway.

In an event hampered by wet weather, Madsen ended up third in the Australian Championship-deciding feature race.

It's fair to say that had it not been for two caution periods in the latter stages of the race, the result might have been a lot different.

Madsen and Krikke travelled back to WA for the remaining four WSS Championship rounds and the annual Krikke Boys Shootout.

Following a clean sweep of the Esperance Speedway and Bunbury Speedway rounds, Madsen put himself in contention for the WSS Championship.

Showing solid speed in the final two rounds in Perth, luck didn't favour the team and they were unable to deny McFadden of the championship.

At the WSS presentation dinner the following evening, new crew chief Matt Cochrane was awarded Crew Chief of the Year - voted on by his peers.

The team also picked up Most Pole Shootout Wins (six) and the prestigious Best Presented Car and Crew award.

Concluding their campaign with the Krikke Boys Shootout in Bunbury, they were eager to finish it on a winning note.

Despite being the fastest car throughout the event, Madsen was leading the feature race up until a lap-13 incident took him out of the running with a flat tyre.

Madsen and the team would like to thank the sponsors for their tireless efforts throughout the 2019/20 season.