Marina Quain runs for 2021 City of Bunbury council election

Marina Quain is running in the 2021 City of Bunbury council election. Photo is supplied.

Marina Quain is running in the 2021 City of Bunbury council election. Photo is supplied.

Over the last decade, Marina Quain has dedicated much of her time to volunteering in as many community organisations as she can.

Mrs Quain moved to Bunbury more than 20 years ago, met her husband Paul and raised their two teenagers, Taryn and Kieran, plus their much loved dog Benny here in Bunbury.

This includes the Bunbury Basketball Association, Bunbury United Soccer Club, Bunbury Geographe Chamber of Commerce and Industry and the Bunbury Indoor Court Alliance.

To add to that, Mrs Quain is also a member of the Bunbury Women's Club and Withers Progress Association.

"In my volunteer roles I successfully championed for $12 million, over two state elections, to improve our community facilities," she said.

"With your support, I want to be your voice and represent you on council."

Mrs Quain said she had the time and commitment to advocate the community's concerns and 'won't shy away from the hard issues'.

"I'm focussed on making Bunbury prosper, making our suburbs thrive, maintaining Bunbury's primacy as the second city," she said.

Something Mrs Quain would like to see happen is annual community hall meetings within all Bunbury suburbs.

"This will be a great opportunity for residents to voice their concerns directly to city staff and council," she said.

"I believe these meetings will promote positive engagement between community, city staff and council."

Mrs Quain spends alot of her time undertaking her various volunteering roles, but when she focuses on 'me time' she can be found at the Bunbury Women's Club playing mah-jong, canasta or learning bridge.

The other councillor candidates are Dr Parthasarathy Ramesh, Tresslyn Smith, Matt Foreman, Ben Andrew, Marina Quain, Daniel Singleton, Dave Chandler, Wayne Chattillon, Mark Chadwick, Michelle Steck, Jaysen De San Miguel, Karen Steele.

The mayoral candidates are Michelle Steck, Cheryl Kozisek, Betty McCleary, Jaysen San DeMiguel, David Kerr, Michael Southwell, Alfred Leigh, Tresslyn Smith and Amanda Yip.